Sunday, July 15, 2012

Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy: The World's End

@edgarwright @simonpegg @nickjfrost

The Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy (also known as the Blood and Ice Cream Trilogy) is a series of films directed by Edgar Wright, written by Simon Pegg and Wright, and starring Pegg and Nick Frost.

The first two films in the series are:

Shaun of the Dead (2004), "a romantic comedy with zombies", and

Hot Fuzz (2007), a buddy cop action/comedy film.

A third film, The World's End, will begin shooting in September 2012 for a 2013 release.

Each film in the trilogy is connected to a Cornetto ice cream flavour – both of the films released to date feature scenes in which one of the main characters purchases a Cornetto of the appropriate flavour.

Shaun of the Dead features a red strawberry flavoured Cornetto, which signifies the film's bloody and gory elements.

Hot Fuzz includes the blue original Cornetto, to signify the police element to the film.

And The World's End will feature the green mint choc-chip flavour, to signify science fiction.

The use of the three flavours/colours of Cornetto is a reference to Krzysztof Kieślowski's Three Colours film trilogy.

Below is the teaser poster and synopsis for 'The World's End':

"20 years after attempting an epic pub crawl, five childhood friends reunite when one of them becomes hell bent on trying the drinking marathon again. They are convinced to stage an encore by mate Gary King, a 40-year old man trapped at the cigarette end of his teens, who drags his reluctant pals to their home town and once again attempts to reach the fabled pub, The World's End. As they attempt to reconcile the past and present, they realize the real struggle is for the future, not just theirs but humankind's. Reaching The World's End is the least of their worries."

1 comment:

Castle Beats

Go to Beatport.comGet These TracksAdd This Player